Finished First Draft

andyBig day! I finished the first draft of my novel last night (though with the way I’ve been editing as I’ve gone along, it feels like maybe a second draft). Many folks have asked me what happens now, and here’s the answer:

  • I get some people to read it and give me feedback
  • I do a little more research to make sure things are set
  • I continue to polish, polish, polish
  • Once I feel like I’ve got something good, I start shopping for agents

I’ve always known that I wanted to go the traditional publishing route, for many reasons. I’m absolutely not sure of the timeline on this. I keep saying I’ll polish this winter and spring, and start looking for agents in spring/summer. Then we’ll go from there!

I’ll write about this in another post, but I managed to write this novel while working fulltime (40 hours) and doing a parttime master’s degree. Still not sure how I managed that. And this novel only took me 14 months to write, too. I started it last October while I was in Chicago at the STORY conference after having taken a whole year off from writing. This is what I jumped back in to, and I never looked back.

More news to come!

4 thoughts on “Finished First Draft

Leave a Reply

