Bottoms Up: A Juice Fast

juiceCall me super weird, but I’ve always wanted to do a real, legit juice fast. Like, order online from one of those expensive places and lug my numbered bottles around for three days cleaning out my system. Well the TIME HAS COME. There’s a new juice place open in Government Center called Cocobeet that I’ve passed by a few times now. I stopped in last week and got a juice, and had to go back the next day – their stuff is so good! Especially their nut milk smoothies. uh-MAZ-ing.

So I did it. I’m finishing up a three day juice cleanse today and it was worth it. I did one a few years ago to jump-start/change-up my whole diet, and I wanted to do that again. Also, I’ve been emotional-eating for the past few weeks because of all of life (eat the feelings, my friend says, and oh I have). Plus I didn’t have really anything going on midweek. So there you go!

It’s not for everyone. My system responds super well to plants (blood type A, yo) so doing three days of vegetables, fruits, and nuts affects me but doesn’t kill me. Actually, I felt off for the first day – hungry, low energy, a bit of a headache – but by the morning of Day 2 all was well, energy up, feeling fine!

The guys at Cocobeet, Onur and Kyle, are really sweet, and considerate with their selections. They have 28 different juices and smoothies, they said (!), and I want to try all of them! I got a good sampling during this cleanse. (They also offer snacks, salads, and sandwiches, which are all vegan/dairy-free and gluten-free. LOVE IT.) Here’s some of what I drank:

Juices:

Green Genes: Kale, Spinach, Cucumber, Celery, Apple, Parsley, Lemon, Ginger
This your basic super-green juice, the kind that scares most people away. Fantastic.

Peruvian Sun: Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, Lemon, Lime, Maca
I’ve never had juiced sweet potato before, and I have to say, it’s really good. With the carrot it’s a really rich, very orange drink.

Kickstart: Beet, Carrot, Apple, Ginger
Yup, there’s beets in there! You can definitely taste them! But this is a good morning juice.

Watermelon Quench: Watermelon, Pineapple, Lemon
Very light (not hefty like the vegetable juices), but super good for a summer day (or when you drag in work when it’s humid and you’ve walked forever because Government Center is closed).

Forbidden Fruit: Grapefruit, Pineapple, Ginger, Lemon, Cayenne, Turmeric
A little too spicy for me (then again, I had it first thing in the morning), but really flavorful with the grapefruit.

Shots:

Coco Chlorella: Coconut Water, Chlorella
A little vial of green goodness.

Heartbeet: Beet, Coconut H20, Lime, Spirulina
Like no color I’ve seen before, which is really cool. Good stuff you know is charging your system.

Coconut Mylk: Coconut Water, Coconut meat
OH MY GOSH I WILL DRINK THIS FOREVER.

Smoothies:

Chocolate Power Mylk:Cashews, Filtered Water, Dates, Raw Cacao, Lucuma Powder, Sea Salt
Think about the best chocolate milk you’ve ever had – rich, thick, satisfying – and you’ve got this, only this is dairy-free.

Vanilla Power Mylk: Cashews, Filtered Water, Flaxseeds, Dates, Vanilla, Sea Salt
Legit vanilla pods make this one another I could drink forever.

Kale Karma: Kale, Pear, Pineapple, Lemon, Probiotic
The pear is the overtone here, and this is a great, sweet drink – though since it’s a smoothie there is lots of texture to it (which can be a good or a bad thing).

Blue Coconut: Blueberry, Almonds, Filtered Water, Almond Butter, Coconut Oil, Chia Seeds
I COULD DRINK THIS ONE FOREVER TOOOOOOO

Overall I enjoyed the three days of juice (it took out of the equation what I’d eat everyday), and look forward to a day of coffee, ice cream, and breakfast sandwiches tomorrow (KIDDINGKIDDINGKIDDING).

Have you done a juice cleanse or any type of super-healthy fast? Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

